You are powerless to stop it. You have spent your whole life fighting it, spinning your wheels in a futile attempt to change a future that has already come to pass. You struggle against urges and instincts that lurk beneath the diminishing veneer of youth, knowing you can be the first person in history to break the mold. But you can’t.

It will strike without warning, and it will be your child who pushes you to the breaking point. That perfect little person will do something one day that leaves you speechless. And when you reach into the recesses of your mind for the words to properly chide your wonderful baby, you will grab onto the only thing you can find. And that’s when it hits you.

Oh sweet Jesus, I sound just like my parents.

We’ve all done it. Those trite lines our parents busted over our thick skulls day after day after day must have been planting seeds way back when, because we can’t help but use them with our kids. And you know what? They actually kind of make sense now.

So I want to hear from you. What are the lines your parents used on you that you now use on your kids?

I promise I’ll do this again in twenty years to hear what your kids have to say.

As always, you can leave a comment below or email me your answer at thedadgumblog@gmail.com. I will include as many answers as I can in a new post at the end of the month.

“Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.”

