If it hasn’t happened already it’s going to.

You’ll be going about your business, doing whatever it is you do as a parent every day, and you will invariably reach back into the recesses of your memory and pull out something you thought you’d never say.

Ah, geez, I sound just like my mom.

I’ve already used several of the more basic ones with my boys:

On more time and you’re going straight to bed!

Stop playing with your food!

This room looks like a pigsty!

What’s worse is that I’m actually hanging onto one, knowing the perfect spot will soon present itself. I remember being a child and walking through the store with my mom. My brother and I would always try to steer us in the direction of the toys. You know, just so we could look and definitely not to try talking our mom into buying us something. Most of the time our plan failed. Brother and I would protest with something like, “Mom, it’s only ten dollars!”

Without stopping the cart or even looking at us Mom would say, “Do you have ten dollars?”

“Well, no,” we would answer.

“Then that’s a lot of money, isn’t it?”

Checkmate. And I can’t wait to use that little gem on my kids.

So I asked you what lines your parents used in you that you now use on your kids. And, as always, you responded brilliantly.

To be quite honest this list could be a long one as my parents were king and queen of one-liners. Some of them I use with pride like:

– “Are you trying to melt the snow so you don’t have to shovel” when the door is open in winter.

– “Do you know what’s under that pony tail?” Yes the answer is an ass and yes I had long hair.

But some of them are unexpected and make me cringe like:

– “You will go blind sitting that close to the tv”

– “Yes I do need to know where you are”

– “Open your eyes, you would be amazed by what you see”

I could keep going but this is a good taste. It has now become a weekly phone call to my mom where I tell her how I used her words of wisdom throughout the week just to give her a good laugh as with most of them I once told her “I will never say this to my kids” hahaha how wrong I was.

Jeff – https://droolingdaddy.wordpress.com/

“If you keep doing that, your babies will be born naked.” I remember my dad saying that to me when I was a little kid when I was doing something I wasn’t supposed to. It would scare me so badly that I didn’t do it again. Now that I am a mother I use that line quite often. I never thought that I would because of how stupid it sounded as I got older. Every time I use it with my daughter, she stops doing whatever it is she is doing. I get why my parents used it. I think that it was/is quite effective!
“Quit playing with that or you’ll wet the bed.” I used to like to play with matches when I was younger and my mom would always say that I would wet the bed if I didn’t quit playing with matches. I was so scared that if I went over to a friends house and spent the night, I would wet the bed so I quit playing with matches. Now, I haven’t had to use that with my daughter yet, but if she ever decides that she wants to play with matches, I will be using that so she doesn’t play with them.

Kaitlin – http://www.mommyalonetime.com/

“When you bring money into this house, you can make the decisions.”

“Where you born in a barn?”

“Don’t make me stop this car…”

“When I was your age…”

Jeff – www.daddyisbest.com

If I came into the living room and left the door open behind me, my dad would say “were you born in a barn?!” I now duly say it to my own children… *Sigh* …I am my father’s daughter!

Lucy – https://lucyathome.co.uk/

“If you keep up that behaviour we wont go anywhere”

“Wait ’till your dad/mum gets home”

Although there was one with the F word dad threw at me a few times I remember using once.

Lost Property Repository

I hope I speak for everyone who contributed when I say feel free to use any of the lines featured here on your kids. It might help break up the monotony. Of course it might also end up being one of those lines your kids unwittingly repeat when they have their own children.

Thanks to all who have contributed to my Question of the Month series so far. I couldn’t have done it without you. And extra special thanks to each and every one of you who follows my blog or my Twitter feed. You’ve turned what started as a modest ambition into a living, breathing manifestation of my inner voice, and helped me remove the word aspiring from in front of the word writer on my Twitter page. That feels really great.

